15 replies to this topic

#1 tryingitout

tryingitout

68% Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 232 posts

Posted 03 February 2003 - 10:32 PM

i posted this in the Alcohol 120% forum but I guess its either in the place and no one's reading it or no one knows? =P ....yah thought I'll put it here and see whether anyone has any ideas? rolleyes.gif

i guess this may be a little 'late' since the last post was like 2 weeks ago cool.gif

in any case, i'm rather new to this whole CDR business...personally i've used memorex and maxell CDRs ...though when i used that CDRin program to check out the manufacturer ...the memorex ones were made by CMC (a lousy brand?) while the maxell ones were made by hitachi-maxell (a better brand?)

in any case, i'm looking to get some taiyo yuden ones (everybody seems to generally agree that they are the best or at least one of the best :praise: ) ...was just wondering cause i do see some TY brand CDRs but they are unbranded....i guess this means that they are supposedly made by TY but do not have the TY brand name printed/stamped onto the CDs?

so what's the difference betw such unbranded TY CDs and the branded ones? Any ideas? (The cost difference is remarkable for one and would that be worth it? :whistle: )

#2 Pappy

Pappy

100% Member

• +Alcohol-Customer
  • 302 posts

Posted 03 February 2003 - 10:45 PM

Hi, I think the quality of TY will be there, unbranded or otherwise. I am only able to get Ty made for Fuji, HP and just lately Memorex. All of the TY I have used has been excellent.

#3 tryingitout

tryingitout

68% Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 232 posts

Posted 03 February 2003 - 10:50 PM

Hi Pappy

so it should be fine even though the website selling them claims that they are TY but have absolutely no labels on them at all?

*actually what is the difference between these unbranded TY disks and say TY made for themselves, HP, Fuji etc?*

#4 pokopiko

pokopiko

Beta Tester/Greek Translator

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip